Win-win situation at Kulu

Greater Flamingos at Kulu

Greater Flamingos at Kulu

Today I was heading south on a vacation with my family. We made a short stop at Kulu. The weather was excellent and the birding was amazing.

Around 2000 Greater Flamingos were dancing around. But I didn’t find the Lesser Flamingo today – probably because I didn’t check the flocks properly.

Calandra Lark

Calandra Lark

The Lesser Short-toed  and Calandra Larks were present in good numbers, but hard to get close to in the fine weather.

Marsh Sandpiper

Marsh Sandpiper

Especially a good variety of shorebirds were present including 4 Spur-winged Lapwings, some Temminck’s and Little Stints, Kentish, Common and Lesser Ringed Sand Plover and my first Marsh Sandpiper this year.

Greater flamingo

Greater flamingo

Much to my families joy a few Greater Flamingos gave very good views from the car – so it turned out to be a win-win situation.

Greater flamingo

Greater flamingo

I frankly didn’t check the area very well, so there are probably lots of good stuff that I missed.

Silas Olofson

Leave a Reply

