Mogan – again

Hoopoe at Mogan

Hoopoe at Mogan

Even though I haven’t been posting too much during the last days I have been out a little. I went to Mogan twice with my daughters, but ended up using most of the time catching fish, tadpoles and other stuff in the streams. So now our living room aquarium has been filled with local stuff. But it’s that time of year, where it would be more than easy to use the whole day just birding at Mogan.

Citrine Wagtails - 2 males and a female.

Citrine Wagtails – 2 males and a female. Click to enlarge!

Yesterday I found my first Red-backed Shrike of the year south of the lake. Furthermore good numbers of wagtails and pipits had arrived. Amongst others about 10 Citrine Wagtails were present of a field untill two fishermen flushed them, so they flew to a small lake area. I even managed to get 3 Cit Wags on the same photo.

Hunting Red-footed Falcon

Hunting Red-footed Falcon

During the few hours present at Mogan 13 Red-footed Falcons migrated northwest. 7 in one flock and after than single birds. As they birds are not forced into a narrow migration route I guess hundreds must have passed.

Purple Heron

Purple Heron

Purple Herons are still the most common herons but I also found Squacco, Night, Great White, Grey and Little Egret.

Today I woke up at 5:30. I almost switched the phone off and went back to sleep, but well… I went out to greet the sunrise at Mogan.

Marsh Harrier on a misty morning

Marsh Harrier on a misty morning

And what a morning it turned out to be. Misty at first but then the sun conquered it slowly.

Moustached Warbler

Moustached Warbler

Good numbers of birds were around including several Moustached Warblers – my first this year.

Red-throated Pipit

Red-throated Pipit

More than 100 Red-throated Pipits were also present and I even captured one of them singing. I recorded it and the video can be seen by clicking here!

What a nice bird...

What a nice bird. Click to enlarge!

Otherwise it was Hoopoe-day today. I have found at least 5 pairs now south of Mogan and they chase each other all the time – I can never grow tired of these unmistakable birds.

Even from a distance it looks good

Even from a distance it looks good

A pair a Little Owls have found a good spot on a chimney south of Mogan. These cute little fellows sometimes look quite intimidating, but they’ve alway worth a shot…

Little Owls

Little Owls

Silas Olofson

Leave a Reply

