Breeding birds in the warmth

Little Bittern

Little Bittern

It’s July. It is breeding season – and often the least exciting time of year for birding. Here in Ankara the temperature easily reaches 40° C and birding just a few hours after sun rise becomes a struggle.

Little Bittern

Little Bittern

But the mornings can be really nice. So I went to Mogan at 5:00. I made my first stop in Gölbaşı, where there is an excellent spot for Little Bittern – and after a few minutes I had good views of two birds.

Turtle

Turtle

At the site there are also many turtles, which reminds me that I really need a reptile book.

I then continued south of the lake. Breeding activities are still prominent and that offers a good opportunity to see some otherwise rarely seen plumages.

Purple Heron

Purple Heron

The only real migrants around were good numbers of Green Sandpipers, but most of the meadows have dried up and there aren’t many mudflats left to attract shorebirds heading south.

Yellow Wagtail - juv.

Yellow Wagtail – juv.

Penduline Tit - Juv. The grey head is quite unlike the juveniles I've seen in Western Europe, which tend to be much more rusty brown.

Penduline Tit – Juv. The grey head is a little different than the juveniles I’ve seen in Western Europe, which tend to be more rusty brown.

Subad. Black Stork

Subad. Black Stork

Great Reed Warbler

Great Reed Warbler – what a bill.

Some kind of rodent made a short appearence, so I need to get a mammal book too along with the reptile book.

Rodent

Rodent

Silas Olofson

Leave a Reply

