Finally back

Cettis Warbler

Cetti’s Warbler

Since I came back to Turkey after a great autumn back home on the Faroes birding has been a little slow. Weather is getting colder and temperatures during night have come down to below zero.

Moorhen using alternative camuflage

Moorhen using alternative camuflage

Mogan is pretty much on winter mode. During the last few days birds like Greater Short-toed Lark, Penduline Tit, Water Pipit, Green Sandpiper and Merlin have been around.

Goshawk

Goshawk

A nice surprise was an adult Goshawk flying over a few days ago.

Corn Bunting

Corn Bunting

Weasel

Weasel

But the best bird was beyond a doubt a very showy Cetti’s Warbler. Sometimes it can be very hard to get good views, but after turning of the car close to a ditch I came really close after half an hour. Maybe my best views ever.

Cettis Warbler

Cetti’s Warbler

I’ve also visited Kazan north of Ankara. It is a place where flocks of Yellowhammers tend to winter – and good numbers of Black Vultures are also around.

Black Vultures

Black Vultures

Pretty soon I found a flock of Black Vultures. They had probably found something as birds kept coming and soon in turned into a raptor party with 22 Black Vultures, several Long-legged Buzzards, 1 Eastern  Imperial Eagle and two Golden Eagles present.

Black Vulture

Black Vulture

Then I checked the Yellowhammer-spot and soon found some Redwings, Dunnocks, Lesser Spotted Woodpecker and a few Yellowhammers.

Redwing

Redwing

Then I located a yellowhammer-type bird with no yellow tinge to it at all. So I suspected it to be a juvenile/female Pine Bunting. The bird was only present for less then a minute before disappearing. I managed to get to photos against with white cloudy sky, but if they are enough to safely identify the bird I do not know.

Pine Bunting a1

Pine Bunting a2

Pine Bunting a3

Silas

2 thoughts on “Finally back

  1. It’s good to hear from you again!
    You’ve been a great inspiration for me to start my blog, I hope I can see more pictures and read more about your adventures in the future 🙂

Leave a comment